Your Coworking Network for Innovation & Startups on Maryland’s Eastern Shore

TEDCO Announces New Members to Maryland Innovation Initiative Board

Board appointments represent expertise of Maryland’s academic research institutions

 COLUMBIA, Md. (October 9, 2018)TEDCO, Maryland’s economic engine for university-based, technology companies, announced the recent appointments of several esteemed members to the Maryland Innovation Initiative Board of Directors.

 The Maryland Innovation Initiative (MII) was created as a partnership between the State of Maryland and five Maryland academic research institutions: Johns Hopkins University, Morgan State University, University of Maryland College Park, University of Maryland Baltimore and University of Maryland Baltimore County. The program promotes commercialization of research conducted in the partnership universities and leverages each institution’s strengths.

 “The funding and subsequent opportunity that MII has provided over the past six years is the kind of momentum we want to continue,” said Robert Hallenbeck, MII Board Chair. “This momentum and our newest Board members are true representations of the entrepreneurial environment we are committed to growing throughout Maryland and beyond.”

 TEDCO’s new MII Board members include:

·         Renee Winsky, President and CEO of Leadership Maryland and previously, President and Executive Director of TEDCO—replacing Tracye Turner, VP and COO of Optical Solutions. Renee has also been appointed to the State’s E-Nnovation Fund Board by Maryland Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.

 ·         Wendy Martin, Director of Technology Development at UMBC—fulfilling the appointment previously held by Dr. Karl Steiner, VP of Research at UMBC, who served on the Board for more than three years.

 ·         Dr. Willie May, VP of Research and Economic Development at Morgan State University—replacing Dr. Victor McCrary, who served on the Board for over 4 years. Dr. May most recently served as the Director of National Institute of Standards and Technology.

·         Additionally, Nina Urban, current board member and Associate Director of JHU-FastForward, has been elected to serve as Vice-Chair of the MII Board.

 Other members of the MII Board include Robert Hallenbeck, Chair, MII and E-Nnovation Fund; Dr. Mary Beth Tung, Director, Maryland Energy Administration; Julie Lenzer, Chief Innovation Officer, UMCP; Jane Shaab, Assistant VP for Economic Development, UMB.